Shower Meditation

Another fantastic time for meditation is during our daily bathing. If you haven’t noticed, I’m a huge fan of taking tasks we already pursue in our everyday lives, and turning them into opportunities for meditation. The act of showering is ripe with moments where we can bring our awareness into ourselves and experience feelings of calm and bliss.

I personally like to shower with low light if I’m doing shower meditation, but this isn’t necessary. I don’t turn the lights off completely, but having a candle, or even just the flashlight from your cellphone is the prefect amount. Put the light on the bathroom counter, and this will provide you just the volume of light you need to identify product labels for shampoo/body wash and identify your clothes to dress afterwards.  Either way, I usually have my eyes closed just to absorb myself in the kinesthetic sensations, opening them anytime I need to. This is the best way to go to avoid and dangers inherent with Showering Meditation(some people lose all sense of balance with their eyes closed).

No special steps or observances need to be practiced before-hand, but doing a bit of breathing meditation always helps. Allow the warm water to fall over you, and observe the places of your body you don’t ordinarily take notice of; the backs of your knees, the top of your feet and ankles, the nape of your neck and between your shoulders. Allow yourself to feel the sensations as the warm water rinses over you. Make sure the water is comfortable and not too hot.

This kind of meditation is actually great for waking your mind up during those early mornings. Close your eyes and lather your entire body with soapy water, and feel as you do it, really stay aware of the process of bathing yourself and running your hands over every inch of your form. Don’t worry about thinking of anything or planning the day out, just remain aware of your body and the sensations you feel. Go slow, and really involve yourself. The awareness of your body as you wash will slowly wake your mind up.

During this time, it can also be good to understand why we bathe ourselves, and what kinds of things that does for our wellbeing; aside from being hygienic, it is an opportunity to coddle ourselves and unashamedly, pampering ourselves to therapeutic and comforting treatments to reinvigorate the body and mind, and pull ourselves out of the stressors of everyday life.

Rinse off with slightly cool water(if you feel like it) for a few moments before you get out(really just 1-5 seconds). Remain aware of your body as you dry yourself off. Dress slowly, being aware of your clothes on your skin, acknowledging the labels and tags and logo’s do not define who you are and are no more a part of your being than the clothing itself.

You are now ready to really start your day, and golly you smell good.

About OneBreathMeditation

I have been meditating for 8 years, and while I don't consider myself an expert, I know I'm knowledgeable about the subject, and can possibly provide help to others who want to experience the enriching benefits of meditation.
This entry was posted in Meditation and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Shower Meditation

  1. KarmaandUkuleles says:

    I’m liking the sound of this, I’ll be giving it a try tomorrow.

    Any way I can request a post about driving meditation? It’s something I’ve started to in some form (for the record it doesn’t involve shutting your eyes) but if you have any insight I’d love to hear!

  2. I do this, too! It feels so different. Okay, so I have done this with the lights off, at night. I did lose my balance a little, but didn’t mix up products, luckily. But the feeling, the glorious feeling, of the bubbles on your skin, the warm water, whatever background noise is there – oh, it’s so relaxing. Just to be. To be one with the water, the shower itself, and not judge anything. It brings such peace. A sense of harmony and love and gratitude toward all things.

    I recommend it, too. Thanks for posting this.

  3. Great post and I agree about making opportunities; I try and ensure anything I do is helping progress two or more of my goals/interests. Now even showering makes the list!

  4. This is a great idea. I usually use the shower as an opportunity to practice positivity – by listening to upbeat music. However tomorrow I will try the shower meditation instead, as a different form of practice. Thank you _/\_

  5. Pingback: Driving Meditation | onebreathmeditation

  6. Pingback: 5-7 Bits of Data | onebreathmeditation

  7. Pingback: brain to bits! « dimitri seneca snowden

Tell me what you think!

