LoA part III, Desire and Letting Go

Desire plays quite a role in the Law of Attraction, but maybe not how you’d ordinarily think it would. It has to be ‘desire-less desire’ or desire without attachment. Desire isn’t about wanting more and being attached, it’s essentially about understanding the path of your life, and what is required for further growth. Desire in itself isn’t a bad thing, but it’s the consequences that we often face from chasing what we think we might desire. Desire is cosmic energy looking for expression the only way it knows how, through a conscious, thinking, acting living system.

Desire is a requirement for Growth

What you cannot affirm for yourself will never be realized by you, and you will remain as you are until you can acknowledge the possibility that there are still ways to grow and learn; Desire is ultimately about injecting our intention with FEELING and emotion and can be a huge deciding factor for creating change in our lives.

Experiments done on Aphids inhabiting a dying rose bush observed that the Aphids would actually grow wings in orders to leave the dying host to find another source of nourishment. Enough desire can bring about a total metamorphosis of our being, but only if we actively saturate our intentions with the feelings of growth. The requirements of growth demand we exert the greatest degree of attraction for what is perfectly in accord with us, and we reap exactly what we sow(often in exact proportion). Desire can act as a kind of compass for keeping us on track.

Like intention and expectation, desire can be entirely faked until the sensations become real to us. Perhaps you know you need a new job, but your anxiety about starting the process is keeping you from really desiring it. You have to pretend as though you really do already desire, until you realize that you really know you do.

I recently had to do a presentation in front of a class full of students, and I almost cancelled because of my anxiety. But if you were to look at me, you might never have guessed it. Inside I was extremely nervous, almost seeing in my head where I would mess up and stumble over my words. But on the outside, I was cheerful, smiling, and confidant. I got in front of the class, and started, faking my confidence the entire way. There came a moment near the beginning where I was looking at the class, and they were all focused on me. I was doing fine, and I knew it, and my faking the confidence fell away and I realized I really just WAS confident about it. I didn’t have to specially cultivate any attributes, I was just well prepared, and faked it until I made it.

This is really on the track of desire anyways, faking something you know you really desire in order to bring yourself into the essence of it. This ‘pretending’ is also a powerful hypnosis therapy technique; the hypnotherapist will often ask, “and why do you think this behaviour happens,”

To which the client replies, “Well, I dunno.”

“Well, pretend you did know. Let’s just pretend you live in a reality where you DO know. So why do you think this behaviour happens?”

“Oh, well it’s obviously ……..”

This is an extremely powerful technique! As I’ve already said, there is a blueprint in the universe, and in your mind, for any and every condition we could ever realize; we could not recognize and desire these conditions in the first place unless there was first a corresponding frame in our own mind. If you know you need more confidence, you can only recognize this because there is a frame in your mind for what a confidant person should be and do.

This is also in line with assuming the feeling of your desire already fulfilled that I talked about in the last post. If you need to attract a mate in your life, you must pretend as though they are already in your life, and live from this new reality. This is the essence of desire, and the desire itself becomes the promise of its own fulfillment, but only with follow through. You need to have a specific intention, with the expectation you will get it(and the assumption in your reality that it is possible), along with the intense desire to be living from the new reality that is required for your growth.

What is the story of your life?

If you are having trouble even faking desire for anything, you may need to step back, and look at the overarching theme of your life, and if your desires are really in line with it. Desire is ultimately for the fulfillment of who you are meant to be, and if you desire something other than what the universe has planned for you, you will face many obstacles. The universe really has the ultimate say on our paths, and sometimes no amount of desire can get us where we think we want to be. The universe will override any of our other plans if we aren’t acting in perfect harmony with it.

So, the last point of Desire is Letting Go, and this requires being unattached to the outcome, regardless of your desire for it. This can seem counter intuitive to people, but really it isn’t. It’s the attitude of being able to go out and enjoy a night with someone, regardless if you will ever see that person again. Many people would not see the point of going to spend time with them in the first place if they we know we won’t see them again anyways, but this is really depriving us of an experience and chance for happiness. We must also ‘let go’ and allow the universe to take care of things in the highest harmonic expression.

There is no reason you cannot feel happiness now for the things that have already passed, or the things we may or may not experience in the future. Happiness comes from inside you, and external events are only keys to that door. But the truth is, that door was never locked to begin with.

Tomorrow, head back for Visualization and Affirmation.

About OneBreathMeditation

I'm a Massage Therapist working out of PNW. I have been meditating for 8 years, and while I dont consider myself an expert, I know I'm knowledgable about the subject, and can possibly provide help to others who want to experience the enriching benefits of meditation.
This entry was posted in Meditation and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to LoA part III, Desire and Letting Go

  1. Pingback: Law of Attraction miniseries | oneBREATHmeditation

  2. Just call me K says:

    Another excellent post….Thank you! x

  3. I’ve nominated you for the Very Inspiring Blogger Award. Although this is relatively new for me, I love blogging and reading the blogs of others and the sharing of what are sometimes very personal thoughts. The type of communication that’s experienced in the blogosphere, and between so many people, makes me feel how truly connected we all are on a higher level. I also know that when someone begins blogging, it’s not to win awards but to share with others. And sometimes it’s therapy for our self. That being said, I find your blog interesting and inspiring and I want to thank you for your contribution. If you choose to accept the award, you’ll find the “instructions” linked here: http://spiritualmysticism.wordpress.com/2012/05/09/very-inspiring-blogger-award/

    Love and Light, Rev. Dani Lynn

  4. nikky44 says:

    Great Post!! Thank you. I am learning a lot, and it is so important!!

Tell me what you think!

